As of Now…

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” – Mother Theresa

Encouraged!! July 27, 2007

Filed under: Just Me spillin' my guts — lookingforward73 @ 2:50 pm

Ok, so I went to the appt I made for the 6 month diet plan. It was with Dave from Indian Creek family medical. Same place that Tim , Will, and Russell have been seen. Autumn has not yet needed a dr. Anyhow, when I called to make the appt, Dave was the one they said I should see. Funny guy, really nice dr, and genuinely seems interested in patient care. He didn’t give me any grief on why I would want the surgery. He said that by this point he trusted that I knew what I wanted and had researched it enough to make my own descision. Whew. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I was fully prepared to look for another dr if this one was going to give me a hard time. So basically I showed him the insurance papers that said what I needed to get approval. I thought he might give me some written diet plan and extensive program. Nope. He pretty much said we will do what we need to do to make the insurance company happy. He knows that I’ve been on diet after diet. He knows that I’ve struggled with this for a long time. He’s not going to make me do anything drastic or strict. We talked about maintaining and gaining health in preparation for the surgery. He wants me to walk on the treadmill and build some lean muscle mass. Eat healthy and basically get my body in the best health I can so I will be ready for surgery. I need to weigh myself once a week and then once a month check in with him and give him those numbers. He is also referring me to a nutritionist so as to cover that as far as the insurance goes. Just covering all our bases. Also, next week I am going to do a fasting blood draw to get suger, lipid, thyroid, and all that stuff checked and charted. So – moral of todays post is I feel good. I feel good about what I have to do and I’m no longer discouraged. I am going to use the next 6 months to prep myself to get the best outcome for the surgery. Oh, and I am going to learn to quilt! woohoo! After my appt I went next door to the quilt store and signed up for a beginners class that starts in september. See – all kinds of stuff to keep me busy!

 

Leave a Reply

