As of Now…

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” – Mother Theresa

Pumpkin Spice protein cookies August 20, 2008

Filed under: Food,Recipes — lookingforward73 @ 3:41 am

I had an urge to bake tonight. Something high in protein, very low in sugar and no white flour. Oh, and it has to taste good too. I found a recipe on allrecipes.com that looked good, but it had splenda as an ingredient. I am not totally anti-splenda. I do drink crystal light, some diet teas, sugar free torani syrups and an occasional packet in some hot tea. I draw the line though at purchasing big bags of it to bake with. I would actually like to cut it out all together, but still like and indulge in some sweet stuff with splenda. I’m going for a more natural, healthful whole way of eating. Instead I used agave nectar. Very sweet and very low on the GI. I also am using wheat products very sparingly right now. But I absolutely did not want white flour so I use some whole wheat flour. The soy flour is ok, but I think that when my bag is gone I won’t be getting it again. I just don’t really care for the taste of it. It is high in protein, but I can get that from other sources too. I used Body Fortress brand vanilla protein powder. I get it at walmart for 12 bucks for a big jug. It’s not so great in shakes, but it’s good to put in other stuff. So I took a decent looking recipe and altered it to fit my wants and likes.

1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup oats ground into flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup soy flour
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tblspn flax meal
1 cup pumpkin puree
2 egg whites
1 whole egg
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 tblspn molasses
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Beat the eggs into the pumpkin and add the agave and molasses. Add to the dry ingredients and mix with the walnuts. I used a cookie scoop to make 31 even cookies. After you get the balls on the sheet, I would smash them down with a fork. Bake for about 6-7 minutes at 350.

They are pretty darn good would make a great on the go high protein snack. And look at these nutritional stats! I think my goal was accomplished.

Nutrition Facts
Amount Per cookie:
Calories 71.5
Total Fat 3.3 g
Saturated Fat 0.7 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g
Monounsaturated Fat 0.8 g
Cholesterol 64.3 mg
Sodium 25.7 mg
Potassium 89.5 mg
Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
Sugars 0.8 g
Protein 5.6 g

 

Leave a Reply

