As of Now…

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” – Mother Theresa

Banana Nut Bread ~ weight loss surgery style October 28, 2008

Filed under: Recipes — lookingforward73 @ 2:57 am

I have been wanting pouch worthy banana nut bread for so long!  When Eggface started posting her recipes for 5 minute sugar free chocolate cake , a light bulb went off. In my head it made sense that I would be able to make some substitutions and additions and come out with banana nut bread. So I gave it a try. Here are my ingredients:

1 Egg, beaten
3 Tablespoons vanilla soy or regular Milk
2 Tablespoons Sugar Free vanilla Torani Syrup
1 ripe banana, mashed
3 Tablespoons Multigrain Pancake Mix
2 Tablespoons Sugar Free banana cream Pudding Mix, dry
1 scoop vanilla Protein Powder
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
dash of salt

In a bowl, mix together the egg, milk, vanilla syrup, and mashed banana. Then mix in the pancake mix, pudding mix, salt and protein powder. Fold in the nuts. I wanted it to come out more like a loaf than a tall cake so I ‘baked’ mine in a glass mini loaf dish.

Then I microwaved it on high for 5 minutes. Let it cool for a couple of minutes in the dish. You can see on top that it looks like it wasn’t quite done. As it cools it firms up and is done through.

Let it cool completely before slicing into eight little slices. It really does taste like real banana nut bread!

 

4 Responses to “Banana Nut Bread ~ weight loss surgery style”

  1. Shari Says:

    Slather that warm puppy with butter spray, pronto! I made the same thing last night )GMTA) and have to wait until I finish my pumpkin cake to eat it– maybe tomorrow! ALso made blueberry muffins. NOMNOMNOM.

  2. Kim Straton Says:

    Banana Nut Bread is my one weakness.

    Thanks!

  3. Shari Says:

    Mmmkay— turns out our recipes are damn near identical, except I used little less of the walnuts and 2/3 of a small banana– and I added banana extract (which oddly, I own) and English Toffee flavored DaVinci. Oh and 1/4 cup egg beaters instead of eggs. Really really good crisped up in the toaster oven with the butter spray.

    Mine grew very large, oddly– rose higher than any other micro cakes– so I sliced it into 7 slices– 61 cals per slice, 1.5 fat, 6 carbs, 4.25 protein, 1 fiber per slice.

    This new baking dealio is fun. I was never one who liked to cook but I do love to bake. Lots of nom nom nomming!

  4. lookingforward73 Says:

    Yeah, I may back down to half a banana since it seems to not want to cook in the middle. It’s actually much better the second day! Now I’m having visions of carrot cake….


Leave a Reply

